7 Chakras : What are they ?

Ever had one of those days where you’re just not feeling yourself? You know, when your energy is off, and you can’t quite put a finger on why? Trust us, you’re not alone. We all have days when we could use a little “pick-me-up.” What if we told you there’s more to it than just a bad mood or a lack of coffee? Enter the concept of Chakras, the mystical energy centers in your body that you probably didn’t even know needed balancing! Understanding your Chakras can be a game-changer for your holistic well-being, mental clarity, and emotional stability.

The Origin Story
Where Did Chakras Come From?

Here’s a little trivia for you—did you know that the word ‘Chakra’ has its roots in Sanskrit? Oh yes, this concept has been around for centuries, deeply embedded in Hinduism and other spiritual practices. In Hindu tradition, Chakras are more than just a trendy term; they’re a pathway to understanding oneself better.

The Basic Science: What are Chakras Really?

The term ‘Chakra’ literally means ‘wheel.’ Imagine little spinning wheels at various points in your body—cool, right? These aren’t just any wheels; they’re vortexes where matter and consciousness meet. Now, don’t just think of them as invisible spinning tops in your body. These are pivotal energy centers where life itself flows!

Pop Quiz: Ever wondered why you’re feeling off some days? Could it be your chakras are imbalanced?

A Guided Tour
The Main Seven Chakras


Ready for a chakra road trip? Buckle up! Let’s go from the base of your spine to the crown of your head, visiting each fascinating chakra pit stop.

  • Root Chakra (Muladhara): Right at the base of your spine, you’ve got your Root Chakra. Feeling insecure or a bit shaky in life? Check in with this red, earthy chakra. It’s all about survival, security, and getting grounded.
  • Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana): Move a little up to the lower abdomen, and you’ll hit the Sacral Chakra. This orange wheel spins with emotions, sexuality, and intimacy. Ever have a gut feeling? Thank your Sacral Chakra.
  • Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura): Next stop, your solar plexus! If you’re struggling with confidence or self-esteem, this yellow fireball is the one to focus on.
  • Heart Chakra (Anahata): The heart of the matter—literally! Located over your sternum, the Heart Chakra is your love, hope, and compassion hub. It’s as green as the love and harmony it represents.
  • Throat Chakra (Vishuddha): Got something to say but feeling choked up? Your Throat Chakra, glowing in calming blue, governs your communication and self-expression.
  • Third Eye Chakra (Ajna): Smack dab in the middle of your forehead, this indigo gem deals with intuition, imagination, and insight. Open this chakra and you’ll be the wise owl of your group!
  • Crown Chakra (Sahasrara): The grand finale at the top of your head, the Crown Chakra connects you with the universe. It’s your spiritual antenna, picking up vibes and wisdom from beyond. A balanced Crown Chakra makes you feel like royalty, and it shines in violet.

Quick Tip: Think of your chakras like Wi-Fi signals. Good connection = Happy life, Bad connection = Not so much.

What Happens When Chakras Are Blocked or Overactive?


So, imagine your chakras are like a highway. What happens when there’s a traffic jam or, conversely, a speed demon zipping around uncontrollably? Chaos, that’s what! If one or more of your chakras are blocked, you’re likely to feel its effects both physically and emotionally.

Blocked chakras can cause anything from minor annoyances to full-blown emotional or physical disorders. And let’s be honest, nobody wants to feel like their own body’s energy centers are working against them.

Reality Check: Healing doesn’t happen overnight, right? But how long does it take to get your chakras in balance? We’re getting to that!

How to Uncover and Heal Your Chakras

Feeling like your chakras could use a little TLC? You’re in luck! Here are some step-by-step ways to get those wheels spinning right:

  1. Identify the Problem: Knowing is half the battle. Use meditation or chakra tests to find out which chakra needs your attention.
  2. Meditate: Each chakra corresponds to specific chants or vibrations. Meditating on these can help unlock your energy centers.
  3. Physical Exercise: Yup, yoga and even targeted stretches can help.
  4. Crystal Healing: If you’re into that kind of thing, certain crystals correlate with specific chakras and can help in balancing them.
  5. Professional Help: Sometimes it’s hard to DIY your way out of energy blockages. Don’t hesitate to consult a certified chakra healer.

The Benefits
What A Balanced Chakra System Can Do For You


Getting your chakras in line is like tuning a musical instrument. Everything just sounds—and feels—better. A balanced chakra system can improve your physical health, mental clarity, and emotional stability.

Did You Know?: Your ability to love might just be connected to your Heart Chakra. So, if you’re looking for love, you know where to focus your energies!

The Spin on Chakras

There you have it, folks—the complete 101 on Chakras. From their ancient roots to their modern-day relevance, we’ve taken a tour from the base of our spine to the top of our heads, visiting each of the seven main chakras.

We’ve talked about the good, the bad, and the ugly—what it feels like when they’re balanced, and the chaos that ensues when they’re not. But most importantly, we’ve learned that our chakras are more than just colorful spinning wheels; they’re the gateway to our emotional, physical, and spiritual well-being.

Food for Thought: Your chakras are like your body’s emotional and spiritual control panel. When was the last time you did a “system check?”

Stay Tuned!

The Chakras are a complex yet so beautiful system to explore and work with. Over the next posts will go deeper in our understanding of these ever spinning wheels of life energy. Is there something in particular you guys would like to learn or share about the chakras ? Let me know in the comment section below. 

With Love,

Vera Montway
Vera Montway is the passionate voice behind TrueSides-Spirituality & Beliefs. After years of walking the spirit-driven path, Vera has dedicated herself to illuminating the way for fellow seekers. Dive into her insights, where you'll find answers to profound spiritual questions, guidance for your personal journey, and a beacon of light for your soul.
Was this article helpful to you?
Liked it? Tell friends & family.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *