The Solar Plexus Chakra for Beginners

Previously, I did an introduction to the 7 chakra system. We saw that having its roots in Sanskrit, an ancient language in Hinduism, Chakras are centers of energy that we find throughout our bodies. Translated, the word Chakra literally means «wheel» because it acts as a vortex, a disk of spinning energy where matter and consciousness meet. At the core of each of us, spin 7 main chakras aligned along the spine starting from the base up to the crown of the head. The Chakras are important for anybody on the Spirit driven path and so we will go deeper into our understanding of each one of these ever-spinning wheels of life energy.

Our journey through the 7 chakras started with the Root Chakra, then the Sacral Chakra and now we arrived to the Solar Plexus Chakra.

Manipura, the third Chakra


The third chakra’s Sanskrit name is Manipura which can be translated into ‘lustrous gem’ because of how it shines bright like the sun. The third chakra is clearly the most radiant and glowing center of our chakra system. As its name implies, it is a fiery, sun-like chakra bringing us warmth, power, energy and light. It is home to our feeling of power, self-esteem, vitality and our will for transformation.

Solar Plexus Chakra : Location in the body

The third chakra is located in the solar plexus, hence its name. It is over the adrenal glands, spreading out from just underneath the sternum down to the navel. In other words, it’s that place where we get those crazy butterfly feelings when there’s a threat to our survival or when we get nervous. This happens when our Manipura isn’t feeling that comfortable, confident or powerful.

Solar Plexus Chakra : Fire Element

The element associated with the Solar Plexus Chakra is fire. By combining the solid matter from the root chakra with movement from the sacral chakra, we find ourselves with a third state: energy, home to our third chakra. Think about it, if you take two sticks (matter) and rub them together (movement) eventually with some love and patience you will get a spark that can ignite a fire. If we look at the physical world, this process is called combustion. But if we look within our body, then it is called metabolism.

The Manipura rules over our metabolism, and so it is responsible for regulating and distributing metabolic energy throughout our bodies. This is obtained by taking food (matter) and putting it through our digestive system (movement) where it is transformed into energy (heat). You can now see that the digestive system is an important part of this whole process, acting as a solid indicator for the state of the third chakra. Health problems such as hypoglycemia, diabetes, stomach ulcers and even food intolerances are all directly related to the solar plexus chakra.

Solar Plexus Chakra : Colour Yellow

The solar plexus chakra is associated with the colour yellow. Yellow is a primary colour composed of a single ray of light. It is the colour of the sun’s rays and is the core colour of our beings. Indeed, the solar plexus chakra is the center from where our ‘I’ radiates, it is the center of our power, strength and energy. As the petals of the solar plexus chakras unfold, we discover a fire that burns within each one of us. This fire gives us power, self-confidence, inner worth and the energy to assert yourself. This is the healing brilliance of the colour yellow.

Solar Plexus chakra consciousness: Transformation

The elements from the first two chakras, earth and water, are very passive. They are subject to gravity, as they flow downwards and follow the path of least resistance. Fire on the other side moves upwards, changing whatever it touches, transforming matter to a new dimension – energy, heat and light. Fire being the element associated with our third chakra, this chakra’s consciousness is all about power and transformation. Power is dependent on energy, just as survival is dependent on matter, and sexuality on movement.  The same way that fire transforms matter into light and heat, the solar plexus chakra transforms the more passive element of earth from the root chakra and movement from the sacral chakra into energy and power.

This being, the solar plexus chakra’s main job is to overcome inertia. And of course, the hardest thing is to get started. But like when we were rubbing two sticks together with love and patience to create a spark, once you get the fire burning, its way easier to maintain it. You just need to continue feeding it little by little. Same goes for the Manipura. Once we manage to overcome inertia, and get to the point where energy is produced without too much effort, the third chakra kicks in and does what it does best, produces energy – with less effort that is. Isn’t doing something with ease and grace the true mark of power ?

If we want to successfully pass through this chakra and into the heart, we need to make sure that our concept of power is one that enhances, empowers, and strengthens rather than one that looks to dominate and diminish.

Our journey up the spine through the Chakras continues

What a journey this has been so far, passing through Earth, to water to Fire, from matter, to movement to energy.

Our journey through our whole chakra started at the base of the spine, home of the root chakra and brought us stability, focus and form where we experienced unity. We then moved up to the sacral chakra where we gained an experience of movement, emotion, desire and polarity. As we continued, we expanded beyond survival instincts and desire for pleasure and merging with another.  As we reached the solar plexus chakra, we grow in strength and find our power rising. Home to the element of fire, this chakra ignites the light of consciousness and pushes us away from inertia. As we activate our power, we direct our activities toward a higher purpose.

With Love,

Was this article helpful to you?
Liked it? Tell friends & family.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *